Explore and discover the history of the "Mother of all Richmonds" ...its 11th century castle ...its 13th century Franciscan Friary...
Do you know
who was stationed in the castle from 1908-1910?
the story of the Little Drummer Boy?
where the burning at the stake took place?
about Willance's leap?
where John Wesley preached?
how Richmond got its name?
The town guided walks, originally run by Richmondshire District Council's Tourist Information Centre have, since its closure, been organised by a group of enthusiastic and knowledgeable volunteers.
Starting at the entrance to the Town Hall, walks take place from the beginning of June to the end of September on Sundays at 2.15 pm and Wednesdays at 11.00 am. They last for between one hour and one and a half hours and are readily adaptable to suit the needs of visitors. They remain on level ground - as far as is possible in Richmond!
There is no charge for the walks but any donations are gratefully received and go toward the upkeep of Richmondshire Museum in Ryder's Wynd which is run by volunteers and funded by donations
Special group walks can be arranged at other times. Please contact John Culpan on 01748 823362 or email: